Unclutter my life. Day Seven. The Bearwood Jumble Trail.

It an attempt to sell some of the things I am unearthing during this unclutter my life process I am taking part in the Bearwood summer Jumble Trail. Think yard sale with lots of people all holding one on the same day in the same neighbourhood.

I am hoping to offload some of the cookery books I sorted through, and have been going throught the last few things that I still have from Mom after sorting through her stuff. The amount of stuff she had was staggering for just one room. And I am sorting through my stuff so my kids don’t have to.

At the moment this is what is going into the jumble.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURESBrownie badges circa 1989.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Including the sash.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURESEnamel souvenir charms.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Soft toys.

And a selection of Bionicles, donated by my son. He too has the declutter bug. He has a vested interest in this declutter exercise as when he saw how much stuff Mom had, he realised that one day he may have to go through my stuff. And as a person who is not a hoarder, has enough clothes to last a week and only one pair of shoes, this one collection of stuff was a blip.

Let us hope the sun shines and the people of Bearwood want some decent cookbooks, Bionicles and Brownie Badges.

 

 

 

This entry was posted in De cluttering, Health and Wellbeing, Vintage and tagged , , , by Travelling Coral. Bookmark the permalink.

About Travelling Coral

I started blogging in 2011 to record some of the highlights of the round the world trip I made with my husband Phil. On the 5 month trip we visited California, New Zealand, Australia, Fiji, Malaysia and Thailand. We met some fantastic people, saw amazing things and ate some lovely food. Yet while enjoying these new experiences I became acutely aware of the inequality in both first and third world countries. The gap between the rich and the poor on the streets of LA and KL was the same. On my return home, I realised that this inequality existed in the UK. I had to leave the country to see it for what it was. Food banks were opening in every town and city. I read the now famous blog, A Girl Called Jack and got more interested in how food poverty impacts the lives of so many people in my home country. And I got angry. And wanted to do something about it. Now, I work for Smethwick CAN, a charity bringing people together to tackle poverty, increase aspiration, provide opportunity and support the most vulnerable. One of the projects is a foodbank. Food poverty is shocking in any country, yet over a third of edible food still ends up in landfill. No one should go hungry, yet children are going to school without breakfast. Parents are skipping meals to feed their children. Foodbanks are a sticking plaster not a cure for food poverty. So, in addition to working for a charity that is supporting people in crisis, I volunteer for The Real Junk Food Project. They intercept food that would normally be thrown away, and cook it and serve it in a Pay as You Feel Cafe. I am still adjusting to life back at home in Birmingham, England, I have terminal Farsickness. To keep it at bay, I drag my husband and sometimes the son on shorter trips both in the UK and overseas. I now post random stuff that interests me. This includes travel, food and well being. The writing keeps me sane. Long term travelling is my goal.

2 thoughts on “Unclutter my life. Day Seven. The Bearwood Jumble Trail.

  1. Thank you for the email and the encouragement. Why is getting rid of our stuff so hard? Your sock dilemma was funny. I would keep all of my “lone” socks that didn’t have a match and use them to dust with. Now I have a basket of lone socks to get rid of! I have 30 days left to rid myself of the rest of my things before we leave on our RV trip. I wish I had all of the money back that I spent on “things”‘ because I would be rich and be able to travel for a long long time. I love your Farsickness word! I would usually refer to my need to travel as “the itch”. When I’m home too long without traveling, I would get the itch. It’s so nice to meet people that feel the same way. Traveling has certainly changed my life and now that my parents are getting older, I want to take this opportunity to make some memories with them that will last me a lifetime. I look forward to reading about your future travels!

    Like

    • Oh I used to keep odd socks to dust with! Not now. I borrowed the term farsickness from another blogger. It was a relief when I found out that it happens to others too. And yes it is good to make some memories with your parents while you can. I hope they are seeing how you are uncluttering your life and choose to do so too. Have fun.

      Like

Leave a Reply

