Live Below the Line 2014 – Day 2

Day 2 dinner tonight. And yes we can afford some meat.

Image

I didn’t think meat would be on the menu at all this week. These are Aldi gluten free sausages and at £1.99 for  6, substantially more expensive that the 99p value sausages suggested by Live Below the Line UK. I decided to have only one sausage and have the other for lunch tomorrow as there was so much sauce.

And it will all come in under £1 a day as I had lentils and rice left over from yesterday for lunch today and porridge for breakfast. I really have not had the time to do the math yet, but I am pretty sure that as these meals cost less than 33p each, and my sausage cost 33p, I am still within budget. I have my home made bread to fill me up and I even had tea.

This sausage casserole has featured on this blog before, based on a recipe from a student cookbook, using tinned potatoes and carrots instead of fresh, inspired by A Girl Called Jack and her recipe for Sausage and Lentil One Pot dinner.

2 thoughts on “Live Below the Line 2014 – Day 2

    • Tasted good though. The Gamer liked it, that said it was all a bit rushed and I have made better. The lentils and rice were probably healthier and cheaper too.

      Like

Leave a Reply

