At least I have food to be bored with. LBL Day 5.

mirrors my thoughts exactly

COOKING ON A BOOTSTRAP

This should be the end of my Live Below The Line challenge.

Tonight, this should be all over.

But for people living in poverty, in forgotten households and pockets all over this, one of the richest nations in the world, there isn’t a store cupboard to go back to.

There isn’t a shelf with paprika and garam masala on, or a trough on the window ledge with coriander and chillies in.

There’s no magic cupboard of carefully built up resources to fall back on.

I remember those days all too well. Scratching around in the bottom of the fridge for half an onion and yesterday’s tomato pasta, cobbling together something, anything to eat. Picking the green spots off the side of a week old loaf of bread and pretending you can’t taste the sour yeasty tang that kicks at the back of your throat, because mouldy bread is better than…

View original post 459 more words

This entry was posted in Life by Travelling Coral. Bookmark the permalink.

About Travelling Coral

I started my blog, Travelling Coral in 2011 to record some of the highlights of the round the world trip I made with my husband Phil. It changed my life and as a result I downsized, decluttered to have a life with less housework more travel. Long term travelling is my goal.

Leave a Reply

