The hardest run

Liz is both compassionate and intelligent in this blog. No further words required.

Adventures in reading, writing and working from home

DSC_8400Running’s an odd thing. It’s at once intensely personal (even the most hardened club runner loves those solitary long runs) and intensely communal (the only sport in which complete beginners can run in the same race as elites – I’ve run in the footsteps of Haile Gebreselassie). Unless you’re at the top of your game, you compete against yourself – you celebrate a Personal Best not how many people you beat.

Running is also a community. I have gained great support from other runners, when learning to run, training, injured, running in races … When tragedy and horror struck the Boston Marathon yesterday, yes, I couldn’t help but be more shaken, overwhelmed and upset than I am by other acts of atrocity, other senseless violence across the globe. Because this was runners; worse, for me, this was runners at the back of the pack, my runners. So, sorry – I…

View original post 462 more words

This entry was posted in Life by Travelling Coral. Bookmark the permalink.

About Travelling Coral

I started my blog, Travelling Coral in 2011 to record some of the highlights of the round the world trip I made with my husband Phil. It changed my life and as a result I downsized, decluttered to have a life with less housework more travel. Long term travelling is my goal.

Leave a Reply

