The Samsung Saga

I posted on Facebook yesterday that my blog today would be about mistakes made on the RTW trip and I have failed to do so. Partly because we mad so many mistakes it is too much to cover in 30 minutes or indeed one blog. Unless I make a list. Which probably I will.

Interruptions

The main reason for the #fail was that I got interrupted by a phone call. now I am sure there is something in the Pomodoro guide about  this, maybe in a real work situation I would complete the task and let it go to answer phone. Yet our home phone isn’t exactly a busy phone. And I was expecting an update on the Samsung sub woofer that could have burned my house down saga. So I had to answer it. Which took a big chunk out of my 30 minutes set aside to blog.

The Samsung Saga

Our blu ray DVD player broke down in early October just as it went out of warranty, wouldn’t you know. So we took it back to the retailer we bought it from to see what the damage would be. After 2 weeks we had heard nothing from them. Now this retailer is really local as I can see their car park from the rear window of my house. It is also an independent retailer and you know how I bang on about that. Yet this is the first thing we have ever bought from them in over 25 years. Because I do not like the owner. At all.

Fire

A few days later and I was in the lounge when I heard a very odd crackling sound then I could smell electrical burning.  Panicking a bit, I unplugged everything in the hi fi corner, and started to investigate where it had come from. Because I could, I also posted about it on Facebook, as you do. That message was seen by someone who works in the 999 response centre for the Fire Brigade and after some persuasion from him I reluctantly called the fire brigade. Two fire engines with sirens, arrived and there were lots of firemen in my house to investigate the source of the burning smell.  After a a discussion with one of them about Bill Bryson, eventually they discovered that if you plugged in the sub woofer it set on fire. If I hadn’t been in the house and noticed the smell and unplugged everything I would not have had a house to come home to. Which was a bit scary.

The sub woofer was taken to the retailer and they told us they would not continue with the repair of the DVD player until they had heard from Samsung about the sub woofer. A week went by. Nothing. In week 2 they loaned us a very inferior DVD player. Week 4. Nothing.  We complained and they loaned us a blu ray player. Still inferior to the one that was broken. And time ticked by. We were told that the speaker had been sent to the factory for inspection. Blah Blah blah. Over a month had passed and nothing had happened.

The power of social media

Fed up with lack of response from Samsung I tweeted them. And emailed them and posted on their Facebook page. What is happening about my speaker that nearly burned my house down? I got a pretty quick response, funnily enough. They needed the reference number for the repair which I didn’t have. Neither did the retailer, I forwarded the email from Samsung to the retailer and copied in Samsung and tweeted them about what I had done.

Still nothing from the retailer. I started to visit them daily, to be told that they would contact the rep. and then yesterday I got a call from Samsung. It was quite clear that she knew nothing of the saga. She was lovely and helpful and shocked when I told her it wasn’t smoke but flames coming out of the speaker. And that the original date of the return of the unit was October 13th. Then I got another call from Samsung repair centre to book a collection date. I told them I didn’t have it. I thought they had it, they didn’t. The sub woofer is still with the retailer not with Samsung.

Getting shouty works

I rang the retailer with my angry head on. Why did you say you had sent it to Samsung ?Denial that they had said that.  6 weeks had passed since we had taken the offending sub woofer to them and NOTHING had happened and I was not pleased. I may have mentioned Watchdog. I got a bit shouty.

Lovely lady from Samsung called again today (the interruption). Seems shouty works as have been offered a replacement or full refund.

Someone, somewhere had not done their job right and she knows it.

So do I accept a replacement of go for a full refund? do I want to continue a relationship with them? I don’t think I do.

One thought on “The Samsung Saga

  1. What a saga, and what a shame when local retailers let us down like that. But then I suppose they are people just like big chains, which presumably started somewhere, they just didn’t develop into a big one. If that makes sense … Hopefully there is a good retailer on another High Street you could use. And I’d get a refund so I could buy something elsewhere, unless Samsung are offering to replace it direct to you.

    Odd to have the little man the villain and the big man the hero, but suppose it shows the biggies can be good, too …

    Like

Leave a Reply

